Trading Places: CFTC names Mark Wetjen acting chairman

December 27, 2013 06:02 AM

The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) announced that the members of the Commission unanimously elected Commissioner Mark P. Wetjen to serve as Acting Chairman upon the end of Chairman Gary Gensler’s service.

Women in Listed Derivatives (WILD), a group that promotes networking and relationship-building among women in listed and OTC derivatives, announced today the results of its first Board of Directors election. Joining the WILD North America Board in 2014 are:

  • Dorothy Friedman, Fidessa
  • Bethany Riesenberg, OCC
  • Mary Savoie, OCC
  • Leslie Sutphen, Chopper Trading

CEO of LCH’s CDSClear unit, Charlie Longden, left the firm to seek a new challenge. Gavin Wells, the CEO of the firm’s ForexClear service, will take over the CDS business.

The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC or Commission) announced that Sayee Srinivasan has been named Acting Chief Economist.

SGX hired Jonathan Cantouris as director in London. Cantouris was formerly an executive director for prime and investor services sales at JP Morgan.

OptionsCity Software announced that David Fisher, CEO of Enova International, has been named to its board of directors. Fisher is recognized for his contributions to optionsXpress, the online brokerage where he served as CEO from 2007 until 2012.

Clark Capital Management Group announced that it has entered into an agreement to have Main Point Advisors, Inc. sub-advise the Navigator Duration Neutral Bond Fund. Jonathan Fiebach, CIO of Main Point Advisors, will focus on investments in the $3.7 trillion municipal bond market and will hedge against risks from rising interest rates.

The Board of Directors of Eurex Zürich AG and the Supervisory Board of Eurex Frankfurt AG appointed Mehtap Dinc and Brendan Bradley as new members of the Executive Board of Eurex. Dinc will take over responsibility for product research and development from Peter Reitz, who will remain on the Executive Board and continue to be in charge of European Energy Exchange (EEX) and Eurex Repo. Bradley will be responsible for innovation management.

About the Author

Michael McFarlin joined Futures in 2010 after graduating summa cum laude from Trinity International University, where he majored in English/Communication. With the launch of the new web platform, Michael serves as web editor for the site and will continue to work on the magazine, where he focuses on the Markets and Trading 101 features. He also served as a member of the Wisconsin National Guard from 2007 to 2010.