Trading Places: Massad nominated to head CFTC

November 15, 2013 08:42 AM

U.S. President Barack Obama nominated Timothy Massad as the new chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Massad currently is a senior Treasury official.

Newedge appointed David Escoffier as CEO, replacing outgoing CEO Nicholas Breteau.

Options announced that the former NYSE Euronext and Arca executive, Roark Siko, has joined the firm as VP of Sales and Customer Service for the Midwest.

John Stotts has joined Allston as Director of Commodity Trading, and Chris Neylon has joined as Director of Energy Trading. Each will manage the firm’s growth in their respective sectors. Stotts has 14 years of experience in trading and managing agricultural commodity options.  Neylon has over a decade of experience in trading and managing options and futures trading groups, primarily in the energy space.

Better Markets, Inc. announced that Caitlin Kline, a former derivatives trader for Credit Suisse, has joined the nonprofit organization as a derivatives specialist. Ms. Kline worked as a flow and structured credit derivatives trader in Credit Suisse’s Emerging Markets Group for five years until 2011.

The Board of Directors of Eurex Zürich AG and the Supervisory Board of Eurex Frankfurt AG appointed Mehtap Dinc and Brendan Bradley as new members of the Executive Board of Eurex. Dinc will take over responsibility for product research and development from Peter Reitz, who will remain on the Executive Board and continue to be in charge of European Energy Exchange (EEX) and Eurex Repo. Bradley will be responsible for innovation management.

OptionsCity Software announced that David Fisher, CEO of Enova International, has been named to its board of directors. Fisher is recognized for his contributions to optionsXpress, the online brokerage where he served as CEO from 2007 until 2012.

Clark Capital Management Group announced that it has entered into an agreement to have Main Point Advisors, Inc. sub-advise the Navigator Duration Neutral Bond Fund. Jonathan Fiebach, CIO of Main Point Advisors, will focus on investments in the $3.7 trillion municipal bond market and will hedge against risks from rising interest rates.

OCC announced that, effective Jan. 1, 2014, Craig S. Donohue will become its Executive Chairman, succeeding Wayne P. Luthringshausen, who will retire on Dec. 31, 2013. Mr. Luthringshausen has served as OCC’s Chairman since 1977.

About the Author

Michael McFarlin joined Futures in 2010 after graduating summa cum laude from Trinity International University, where he majored in English/Communication. With the launch of the new web platform, Michael serves as web editor for the site and will continue to work on the magazine, where he focuses on the Markets and Trading 101 features. He also served as a member of the Wisconsin National Guard from 2007 to 2010.