Trading Places: Ryan steps down as SIFMA CEO

A wrap-up of promotions and moves from around the industry

T. Timothy Ryan will step down as president and CEO of the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA) on Feb. 23. Ryan, who joined SIFMA in 2008, plans to rejoin JPMorgan Chase & Co. as global head of regulatory strategy and policy. Kenneth E. Bentsen, Jr., the organization’s executive vice president, public policy and advocacy, has been named acting president and CEO.

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Ltd. (HKEx) announced two senior appointments. David Graham will now serve as chief regulatory officer, overseeing HKEx’s listing division and market surveillance, legal services and secretarial services departments. Romnesh Lamba, previously the exchange’s head of market development, and Martin Abbott, CEO of the London Metal Exchange, are now co-heads of the new global markets division.

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) named Geoffrey Aronow general counsel. Aronow comes to the agency from Bingham McCutchen, where he was a partner in the firm’s Washington, D.C. office. He previously served as head of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission’s enforcement division.

The Futures Industry Association (FIA) hired Allison Lurton as senior vice president and deputy general counsel. Lurton previously was of counsel in the Washington D.C. offices of Covington & Burling. Her prior work experience also includes a seven-year stint as the chief trial attorney in the enforcement division of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

Freeman Hrabowski III joined T. Rowe Price Group as an independent director. For the past 20 years, Hrabowski has served as the president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. He also serves on the boards of McCormick & Company Inc. and the Baltimore Equitable Society and was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time Magazine in 2012.

Jeffrey Marzo, chief financial officer of Hong Kong Exchange and Clearing Ltd. (HKEx) announced that he will retire, effective Jan. 13, 2013. Current deputy chief financial officer Kwong Yau Shing will take over Marzo’s duties on an interim basis.

Fortress Investment Group Principal and Director Robert Kauffman will leave the company after 15 years with the firm. Kauffman co-founded Fortress in 1998, and has overseen the firm’s European private equity investment operations and its long-only fixed-income business during his tenure.

ICAP Securities and Derivatives named Richard Dellabarca, former chief financial officer of Chi-X Global, non-executive director of the board.

Newedge announced several senior appointments in its metals business in London, Hong Kong and New York. Peter Barrowcliff, previously the brokerage’s global chief operation officer for metals, will now be global head of metals. Brian Flaherty was hired as U.S. head of metals, based in New York, and Wendy Law and Alan Burr, who both joined the firm from Natixis, have been promoted to co-heads of Asia-Pacific Metals.

Interactive Data Corp. made several appointments to a new regional product management team designed to help the global expansion of its FutureSource market data and analytics platform. James T. Moock, Jr. joined the company as commodities and energy product manager for the Americas, and Daren Robson will hold the same position in Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

Dean Backer is now president of Hedge Funds Care, an international non-profit organization which works to prevent and treat child abuse. For the past 10 years, Backer has been a partner at Goldman Sachs, where he is also the global head of sales and capital introduction in the global securities services business.

CBOE Holdings announced changes in its leadership team that will become affective after its annual meeting in May. Longtime Chairman and CEO William Brodsky will step down as CEO and serve as executive chairman for at least one year. President and COO Ed Tilly will take over as CEO and Chief Business Development Officer Edward Provost will succeed Tilly as CBOE President and COO.

Börje Ekholm was named chairman of the NASDAQ OMX Group Inc.’s Board of Directors. Ekholm, who has served as the exchange company’s interim chairman since May 25, has been CEO and president of Investor AB since 2005.

comments powered by Disqus
Check out Futures Magazine - Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome