Jaycobs takes up ELX leadership

February 29, 2012 06:00 PM
Trading Places

Richard Jaycobs was named CEO at ELX, succeeding Neal Wolkoff. Jaycobs has held a number of senior executive positions, including president of the Cantor Exchange, CEO of the Chicago-based Clearing Corporation,CEO of onExchange, and managing director at the New York Cotton Exchange. In the announcement, Jaycobs said, “ELX has firmly established a liquid market and a diverse customer base for interest rate futures, and I am excited about the challenge and opportunity to continue offering futures market participants a compelling fee structure, superior services and robust technology.”

John Kelly was appointed COO and head of sales and trading operations in the U.S. at Liquidnet. Kelly most recently worked with former Goldman Sachs president John L. Thornton.

Margaret Wiermanski was named chief operating officer at OptionsCity Software. She most recently served as COO at Chicago Trading Company.

Chris Smith, former MF Global CEO and head of risk, credit and IT until 2008, was hired by ED&F in an unspecified role.

Roy Friedman was named executive vice president of business development at Dillon Gage Metals. Friedman most recently was a vice president at A-Mark Precious Metals.

Mark Davies was appointed vice president of data business development at DTCC. Davies previously worked in RBS where he was head of Reference Data within Shared Services Finance since 2008, and prior to that he was associated director for Shared Data Services at Barclays Capital.

John D. Reese, founder of Peak View Capital, was named CEO and named to the board of directors at Price Asset Management as part of a strategic partnership between the two companies. Additionally, David F. Schink, a managing partner at Peak View, joined Price as chief operating officer and general counsel.

Frank J. Petrilli was appointed chairman of the board at ETFC. ETFC CEO, Steven Freiberg, has been the interim Chairman since Robert Druskin’s departure in May 2011.

Tim Bennet was appointed CEO at NZX Markets. Bennet most recently served as a partner in Oliver Wyman’s Retail and Business Banking practice.

David Mitchell was appointed business development manager at Chi-X Australia. He most recently was North America regional manager at ASX.

James E. Brown joined OCC as executive vice president and general counsel, succeeding Bill Navin. Brown comes to OCC from Schiff Hardin LLP, where he served since 1983.

Vincente Martinez was named director of the CFTC’s recently created Whistleblower Office. Martinez joins the CFTC from the Securities and Exchange Commission, where he most recently served as an assistant director in the Division of Enforcement.

Don Green was named chief financial officer of the Teacher Retirement System of Texas. Green has served in state government for more than 30 years and most recently was senior advisor to the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

Robert M. Fisher was named deputy director in the SEC’s Office of International Affairs. Fisher has been with the agency since 2002. Jane A. Norberg was appointed deputy chief of the Office of the Whistleblower. She comes to the SEC after 14 years of experience at her own law firm and at Shearman & Sterling.

About the Author

Web Editor/Assistant Editor Michael McFarlin joined Futures in 2010, after graduating summa cum laude from Trinity International University, where he majored in English/Communication. With the launch of the new web platform, Michael serves as web editor for the site and will continue to work on the magazine, where he focuses on the Markets and Trading 101 features. He also served as a member of the Wisconsin National Guard from 2007 to 2010. mmcfarlin@futuresmag.com