Kupper takes up ASX helm

September 30, 2011 07:00 PM
Trading Places

Elmer Funke Kupper was appointed CEO at the Australian Securities Exchange. Previously, Kupper served as CEO of Tabcorp and ran Australia & New Zealand Banking Group’s Asia Pacific business and wealth management unit. "I am here to run the business but I am here also to think about that long-term future. All I can say today is the business is in a terrific place to participate in whatever that might look like," he says.

Ashley Alder was appointed CEO of Hong Kong’s Securities and Futures Commission. He currently is senior partner at Herbert Smith LLP.

Diederik Zandstra was appointed head of international listings for Europe, the Middle East and Africa at NYSE Euronext. Zandstra has been with NYSE Euronext since 2009. Previously he had worked for Credit Suisse, Morgan Stanley and Renaissance Capital.

Michael Kilgallen joined CME Group as managing director, equity products. He most recently served as managing director, global prime finance for Citigroup’s Equities Division. Sean Tully also joined CME Group as managing director, interest rate products. Tully most recently served as managing director, global head of credit and fixed income trading at WestLB in London.

Kim Bang was named CEO at BondDesk. Previously, Bang was a founding member and former CEO and president of Bloomberg Tradebook.

Gary Barnett was appointed director of the Division of Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight at the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC). Barnett comes from Linklaters LLP where he was head of the firm’s U.S. Derivatives and Structured Finance Practice Group. John L. Rogers was named the agency’s chief information officer. Rogers has been with the CFTC since 2001.

Eileen Flaherty was hired by Newedge as global head of compliance and financial crimes prevention. She most recently served as managing director of the Global Capital Group. Fernando Santos also was hired by Newedge to be manager of precious metals. Santos most recently worked for UBS.

Joacim Wiklander was appointed CEO of Neonet Securities, part of Orc Group. He has been with Orc Group since 2000 and most recently was chief strategy officer.

Kathleen Weiss Hanley was named deputy chief economist and deputy director of RiskFin at the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). She previously served as a senior economist at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

Brian Guthrie was appointed executive director of the Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS), and Ken Welch was named deputy director. Guthrie has served as TRS deputy director since his selection by the TRS board in September 2008. Welch has served as TRS chief financial officer since April 2008.

Dan Flynn and Joe Yasinski were named vice presidents of distribution for Gold Bullion International. Both Flynn and Yasinski most recently served as vice presidents of distribution at Eaton Vance Distributors.

About the Author

Web Editor/Assistant Editor Michael McFarlin joined Futures in 2010, after graduating summa cum laude from Trinity International University, where he majored in English/Communication. With the launch of the new web platform, Michael serves as web editor for the site and will continue to work on the magazine, where he focuses on the Markets and Trading 101 features. He also served as a member of the Wisconsin National Guard from 2007 to 2010. mmcfarlin@futuresmag.com